History of the EWCPS

The European Winter Conference on Plasma Spectrochemistry (EWCPS) is a series of conferences on Plasma Spectrochemistry. The conference's objective is to bring together plasma spectrochemists from all over the world in one European location to stimulate contacts and exchange knowledge and experiences. Plasma spectrochemistry involves analytical methods such as ICP-MS, GD-MS, ICP-AES, DCP-AES, MIP-AES, LIBS or LAMIS.

The first EWCPS took place in Leysin, Switzerland, in 1985, and the 20th event of this series will be the EWCPS 2025 in Berlin, Germany. The complete list of the EWCPS meetings and their chairpersons is given below:

  • 1985 Leysin, Switzerland, J.M. Mermet, E. Janssens
  • 1987 Lyon, France, J.M. Mermet, E. Janssens, N. Omenetto
  • 1989 Reutte, Austria W. Wegscheider
  • 1991 Dortmund, Germany, J.A.C. Broekaert
  • 1993 Cambridge, UK B. Sharp
  • 1995 Granada, Spain A. Sanz-Medel
  • 1997 Gent, Belgium L. Moens
  • 1999 Pau, France O.F.X. Donard
  • 2001 Lillehammer, Norway Y. Thomassen
  • 2003 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany K.G. Heumann
  • 2005 Budapest, Hungary P. Fodor
  • 2007 Taormina, Italy J. Caruso
  • 2009 Graz, Austria K. Francesconi
  • 2011 Zaragoza, Spain J.R. Castillo
  • 2013 Cracow, Poland J. Szpunar, P. Koscielniak
  • 2015 Münster, Germany U. Karst, M. Sperling
  • 2017 Sankt Anton, Austria, T. Prohaska
  • 2019 Pau, France, R. Lobinski
  • 2023 Ljubljana, Slovenia, S. Šelih and Martin Šala

EWCPS 2025
02 - 07 March 2025 | Hybrid Conference in Berlin (Germany) & online

Sign up for our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter for regular updates about materials science topics!

After subscribing, you will receive an email from us with a confirmation link.
Only after clicking this link your registration is completed.

Connect with us